You must get the the court to sentence you under the “Misdemeanor Traffic Case Postponement” statute or change the charge to something that won’t increase your insurance or add points to your license. See: Ark. Code Ann. §5-4-321. That statute cannot be used in cases involving driving under the influence of alcohol or a drug.…
Even billionaires can be caught in the net of widespread sex sting operation. New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft faces charges of soliciting prostitution in Florida after he was snared in a widespread sex trafficking crackdown by authorities there. Kraft, age 77, is among the hundreds of people named in arrest warrants as part of…
What is a Controlled Substance? Any illicit drug or prescription medication for which its manufacture, possession, or use is regulated by the state or federal government is referred to as a controlled substance. Both the Federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA) and the Texas Controlled Substances Act classify controlled substances into different “schedules” or groups. The…
If you face a charge for DWI, drug possession, sex assault or any other criminal offense and need a criminal defense lawyer, you may be wondering about getting a private attorney versus a public defender. Which one is the best? First, let’s consider the nature of a public defender. Court-appointed defender When a criminal defendant…
The Clean Slate Expungement Provision can be found in Arkansas Code Annotated §16-93-314 as of 2011. Before that, it was basically the same statute enacted in 1975 found in §5-4-311. The 1975 statute was repealed and only the 2011 one remains in effect. However, if you plead under the old statute you can still apply…
Marijuana and Texas: What you need to know Marijuana, marihuana, cannabis, and Mary Jane: it’s all the same when you are caught with the green leafy stuff. Getting caught with marijuana is against both State and Federal law. What does this mean for you? In Texas, the seriousness of the charge will depend on how…
If you get caught with child porn on your phone, you could be charged with possession of child pornography. If convicted of this felony offense, you could spend years in jail, pay thousands of dollars in fines, and have your personal and professional lives ruined by the collateral consequences of a sex crimes conviction. For…
Getting a DWI Reduced The term “wet reckless” typically refers to a reckless driving offense that was originally charged as a driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest. Wet reckless charges are often the result of plea bargaining between a prosecutor and a criminal defense attorney. While guilty pleas are more common in cases that have stronger…
According to the Arkansas Constitution, the governor has the power to pardon all crimes except treason (unless the Senate agrees) and impeachment.  Will getting a pardon from the governor restore my gun rights? There are two types of pardons. The one that restores your gun rights. The one that doesn’t. If you want the one…
There are pre-determined standards for the amount of alcohol in your body that can lead to DWI (driving while intoxicated) charges. If you are over 21 and operating a personal vehicle, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is 0.08 percent. When you are under 21 years of age, any detectable amount of alcohol in…